教學

Unity Thai Language School

本校教學課程以單元來區分,每一單元的課程包含了20天的半天課程,為小班制,每班人數約5-12人。這樣的人數限制下,可使學生沉浸在輕鬆愉悅的泰語教學中。每一單元的教學大網如下:

Training

單元一

學生主要學習認識母音、子音及泰語五個聲調,並且練習泰語發音。學生將學習泰語拼音書寫系統,透過拼音方式寫下泰文,並且學習基本泰語詞彙和練習日常基本會話句型。本單元主題涵蓋:自我介紹、點餐、問路,以及表達個人喜好和比較事物…等。

單元二

延續單元一的拼音書寫系統教學。本單元將擴大學生的字彙量及提升日常對話技巧,透過反覆練習句型對話,以加強泰語口語練習。本主題包括:地理、方向、氣候、身體各部位及季節…等。

單元三

本單元將正式介紹泰語書寫系統。學生將學會泰語44個子音、部分母音和聲調,以及基本泰語拼音規則; 其餘部分將留待至單元四。本單元仍將著重擴充學生的字彙量及會話技巧。

單元四

本單元將增進學生在泰語書寫系統的知識,並且持續增加學生的字彙量及會話能力。本單元學生將學會所有的泰語子音和母音,和學會泰語拼音及聲調規則。每日的聽寫練習及回家作業將會有助於提升學生的泰語書寫能力。

單元五

本單元將強調在泰語短篇寫作。藉由單元三及單元四的泰語寫作基礎練習,學生在本單元將會練習基本泰語閱讀,以及練習短篇泰語寫作。本單元主題包含:認識泰國著名水果、了解泰孕育泰國的重要河流-昭披耶河,和熱鬧無比的「札都甲周末市集」…等,將有助學生更了解泰國生活文化。每日的聽寫練習及家庭作業亦將會提升學生聽力及寫作能力。

單元六

本單元將著重在於泰語口語上的練習。本單元將介紹泰語一般口語用法、泰國諺語、及一般日常慣用語和表達方式。同時,藉由閱讀基本的口語對話,以增進加強學生的閱讀能力。在每日的聽寫練習和家庭作業,學生的聽力及寫作能力也將獲得提升。

進階課程

一旦學生完成通過單元一至單元六的課程後,將會有不同的進階課程供學生選擇,以強化學生在聽、說、讀、寫等各方面的能力。

Unity Thai Language School

泰國社會生活文化單元

學生將從本單元中認識泰國自然環境、氣候、和人文景觀,並了解在泰國這片土地上,不同的區域有著不同或相似的生活方式。本單元主題包括:建築、時尚、飲食、傳統風俗習慣、家庭、養育子女、價值觀、宗教信仰、泰國智慧、及泰語來源歷史等。本單元對於打算長期住在泰國的人有相當大的助益及收獲。

泰國教育部泰語檢定考試訓練課程

本訓練課程從九月份至十一月底,為期三個月的訓練課程。本課程將提供學生練習加強聽、說、讀、寫等各方面的能力。寫作方面,學生練習用泰語解釋圖表(例如:圓餅圖、柱狀圖、地圖…等),並練習用泰語表達對不同事物的看法。閱讀方面,將透過閱讀不同的文章、故事,讓學生學會如何掌握文章、故事的精髓。聽力方面,藉由聽各種主題、新聞和日常生活故事,以強化聽力能力。最後,透過模擬回答試題和對話練習,幫助學生了解在口試過程中可能遇到的情形。如上所說,本單元將會盡全力加強學生各方面的技巧與能力,使學生在檢定考中發揮實力,取得高分。

UTL-Training

進階課程

社會問題

本單元將介紹泰國常見的社會問題,例如:毒品、貪汙、貧窮、離婚及賣淫…等問題。藉由了解泰國社會問題,學習相關詞彙和閱讀相關文章,以提升泰語能力。課程中的會話及回家作業將會著重在學生對於社會問題的看法及意見上。

新聞一

本單元學生將認識基本新聞字彙及泰文新聞寫作風格。透過不同的新聞主題,讓學生更了解新聞用語。本單元將介紹政治、經濟,健康、運動…等議題。課程中的對話及家庭作業,將會著重在相關的新聞文章主題上。

新聞二

本單元將提升學生對泰文新聞的閱讀及理解能力。新聞文章內容將依據學生的喜好,取自最新的新聞消息,做為上課的主題。課程及家庭作業亦將著重在新聞主題本身上。

泰國歷史

本單元將介紹泰國歷史,將大致回顧泰國素可泰、大城、吞武里及曼谷王朝。透過回顧事件、人物刻畫,例如:歷代國王、重要城市,以及戰爭過後的泰國社會經濟樣貌,以更進一步了解泰國。

泰國民間故事

本單元將介紹泰國民間故事,這些故事通常具有道德上的教導,泰國成人常透過這些故事來教導孩童,並教會孩子如何獨力思考。本單元內容對於日常生活上的口語運用,相當有助益; 加上生動有趣的故事,讓學習泰語變得更加愉快。

泰國社會風俗

本單元將介紹泰國社會的風俗習慣,並且介紹泰曆上重要的日子和特別節慶,例如:泰國新年(潑水節/宋干節)和水燈節。

泰國諺語

本單元將介紹泰國格言諺語。泰國文學作品及對話中充滿許多的格言、諺語。在泰國文化上,這是非常重要的泰語教學工具。學生將會透過本單元學習到許多流行有趣的諺語。

醫學專有名詞

本單元將介紹醫療領域上的專業用語。藉由學習相關醫學專業詞彙,當在泰國身體不適去看醫生時,可以透過所學的詞彙,向醫生描述病症和身體不適之處。本單元對想要在泰國工作的醫生和護土非常有幫助。

泰國佛教

本單元將介紹泰國佛教教義、信仰和實踐,及介紹佛曆上重要的日子。在泰國人民生活中,重要的儀式無不受到佛教的影響,例如:從婚喪喜慶到和尚服飾。學生將學習專業的宗教詞彙,和有機會參觀泰國廟宇。

聖經

本單元將介紹聖經上常用的特別詞彙。

家務管理

本單元介紹學生如何使用相關詞彙及基本對話,以指導別人如何管理家務,和做各式各樣的家務工作。本單元將介紹廚房內的工具設備、打掃清潔的用品,及照顧嬰兒的用品等詞彙。同時,學生也將學習到營養和禮儀方面等相關知識。除此之外,依據學生的興趣喜好提供選擇性的課程,例如食物的裝飾及擺盤。對於日常生活中需要跟家庭幫傭溝通的人,家務管理將是最理想的單元。

觀光

本單元將介紹泰國著名的觀光。根據不同的地區,重要的省份,和重要景點,一一分區介紹泰國美麗的景點。

對於想長期在泰國工作或打算生活在泰國的人,強力推薦下列四門課程:「社會問題」、「泰國風俗文化」、「泰國佛教」,「泰國諺語」等,藉由上述四門課程,將有助於您更了解泰國人民及認識泰國文化。

Training

Unity Thai Language School

The course is modular with each module consisting of 20 half a day sessions. The classes are small (5-12 students), and almost all the immersing right from the outset. Each module has the following syllabus.

Training

Module 1

This module teaches the student to recognize and pronounce the vowel sounds, the consonant sounds, and five tones of the Thai language. Students learn a phonetic writing system that is used to write Thai words. Students also learn basic vocabulary and practice basic conversations about topics ranging from introducing yourself, ordering food, and asking directions, to expressing preferences and comparing things.

Module 2

This module continues to use the phonetic writing system learned in module 1. Students expand their vocabulary and conversation skills. They learn and practice conversations about topics ranging from geography, weather, and body parts, to emotions and seasons of the year.

Module 3

This module introduces the Thai writing system. Students learn to read and write some of the Thai consonants and vowels. This module also continues to build the students’ vocabulary and conversation skills.

Module 4

This module expands the students’ knowledge of the Thai writing system and continues to add to their vocabulary and conversation skills. Students learn to read and write the remaining Thai consonants and vowels. Students’ writing skills are improved by the daily dictation exercises and homework assignments.

Module 5

This module focuses on the characteristics of the written Thai language. Students learn basic reading skills, read short essays about life in Thailand, and practice writing short essays. Topics include Thai fruits, the Chao Phraya River, and the famous Chatuchuk weekend market. Students’ listening and writing skills are enhanced by the daily dictation exercises and homework assignments.

Module 6

This module focuses on the characteristics of the spoken Thai language. It introduces some spoken slang, some Thai idioms, and many commonly used phrases and expressions. Students also improve reading skills by learning to read basic spoken conversations between two or more people. The students’ listening and writing skills are built by the daily dictations exercises and homework assignments.

Special Modules 4-6

Thai conversation (speaking only) is also available

Advanced Modules

Once the student has completed Modules 1-6, there are many advanced modules available to strengthen their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills.

Unity Thai Language School

Module:  Lifestyle and Society of Thailand

In this module students will learn about the natural environment, weather, and landscape of Thailand.  You will study the differences and similarities of the way of living in the different regions of Thailand including subjects like:  architecture, fashion, food, customs and traditions, family, raising children, Thai values, religion and beliefs, Thai wisdom, and the history of the Thai language.  This module will greatly benefit anyone who plans to live in Thailand for a long period of time.

Module:  Preparation for Thailand’s Ministry of Education’s Thai Language Competency Test

This preparation module is for 3 months beginning in September and ending the end of November.  It is designed to give you opportunity to practice and develop your skills in writing, reading, listening and speaking.  You will practice writing by writing essays that explain charts or maps and essays that express your opinion on different matters.  You will practice reading by reading several articles and stories and trying to grasp the meaning of those articles and stories.  You will practice listening by listening to several different tapes about news, educational subjects and stories of everyday life in Thailand.  Finally, you will practice speaking by answering questions and making conversations so you will have an idea of what kind of situation you will be in when talking with the examiners.  This module will develop your skills in all four skill sets mentioned above so you can achieve the highest test score that you are capable of.

UTL-Training

Advanced Modules

Social Problems

This module introduces the student to some of the social problems in Thailand, e.g. drugs, divorce, and prostitution. Students learn vocabulary and read essays about the social problems. Conversations during class and homework assignments focus on student reaction to and opinions about the social problems.

Newspaper 1

This module introduces the student to some basic vocabulary and writing style of Thai newspapers. It uses articles on a variety of topics from politics and the economy to health and sports from past newspapers. Conversations during class and homework assignments focus on the topics in the newspaper articles.

Newspaper 2

This module improves the students’ ability to read and understand Thai newspapers. It uses articles from current Thai newspapers on topics of the student’s choice. The topics vary each session depending on the interests of the students in the class. Conversations during class and homework assignments focus on the topics in the newspaper articles.

Thai History

This module introduces the student to Thai history. It takes a brief look at Thai history in the Sukothai, Ayuttaya, Thonburi, and Bangkok periods. It looks at events, personalities, e.g. Kings, important cities, and wars that shaped the social and economic history of Thailand through the years.

Thai Folk Tales

This module introduces the student to Thai folk tales. These folk tales are used to teach moral lessons and how to think. Adults often use them to teach children.

Thai Social Customs

This module introduces the student to the social customs of Thai society. It also introduces important days on the Thai calendar and special festivals like Thai New Year (Songkhran) and the Festival of Lights (Loy Khathong).

Thai Proverbs

This module introduces the student to Thai proverbs. Thai literature and conversation is full of proverbs and idioms. They are an important teaching tool in Thai culture. Students learn many of the most popular Thai proverbs.

Medical Terms

This module introduces the student to specialized terminology used by people in the medical fields. Students learn vocabulary to describe symptoms of sickness, body parts, visit the doctor. It is especially helpful for doctors or nurses who wish to work in Thailand.

Thai Buddhism

This module introduces the student to Buddhist teachings, beliefs, and practices in Thailand. It introduces the student to important days on the Buddhist calendar. It also introduces important ceremonies in Thai people’s lives that are influenced by Buddhism, e.g. weddings, funerals, and ordination into the monk hood. Students learn specialized religious vocabulary. This module includes visits to temples.

Bible

This module introduces the student to the specialized vocabulary of the Bible.

Household Management

This module introduces the student to vocabulary and basic conversations needed to teach someone how to manage a household and do various types of work around the house. It teaches vocabulary for tools and utensils used in the kitchen, items used to clean the house, and items used to care for babies. Students learn about nutrition and etiquette. There are optional lessons about things such as decorate food displays—these depend on student interest. This module is ideal for anyone who needs to communicate with a household maid on a regular basis.

Tourism

This module introduces the student to tourism in Thailand. It presents the different regions of the country, the important provinces in each regions, and the important places to visit in those provinces.

If a student is planning to work or live in Thailand for a long time, the following 4 courses are highly recommended to improve understanding of Thai people and culture: Social Problems, Thai Customs & Culture, Thai Buddhism, and Thai Proverbs.